News & Events

Upcoming Events

Weekly on Mondays

Host of the Crime Feast Podcast

 

Weekly on Tuesdays

Host of the History, Books and Wine Podcast

 

Tuesday
November 1, 2022 @ 7pm EST
In conversation with J'Nell Ciesielski
One More Page Books
Arlington, VA

**Free ticketed event

 

Wednesday
November 30, 2022 @ 7pm EST
Virtual Fireside Chat with Adventures by the Book

**Free event

 

Sunday
July 9 - 16, 2023
Instructor - Retreat, Write and Plan for Success
Ireland Writer Tours

 

Halloween Reader Hop

It's that time again for some fun reader trick or treating! Hop along to each of the author's pages linked below and "collect" all the candies for your chance to win $150!

Halloween is one of my favorite holidays. I love the spookiness that surrounds this month and the historical meanings behind it. Halloween originated in ancient Celtic culture and was called Samhain. For the Celts, November 1 is when they celebrated their new year, and so the night before marked the end of the harvest and the beginning of winter--which is when death rates rose because of the cold temperatures and issues with food.

On Samhain night, it was said that ghosts were allowed to roam the earth as the boundary between the living world and that of the dead blurred. People would build great bonfires, where they would make sacrifices of their crops and livestock. They dressed up in costumes made from animal skins, heads, horns, etc.. to ward off the ghosts. By the 8th Century, a pope named November 1st All Saints Day, and the evening before became known as All Hallows Eve, eventually becoming Halloween.

So why do we carve pumpkins? They used to carve turnips into grotesque heads, and set them in their windows with candles burning as lanterns to ward off evil spirits.

My favorite candy is Junior Mints!

Enjoy the hop!

 

Alanna Lucas https://alannalucas.com/
Anna St. Claire https://www.annastclaire.com/contests.html
Caroline Warfield https://www.carolinewarfield.com/the-halloween-hop/
Deb Marlowe https://www.debmarlowe.com/
Elizabeth Langston http://elizabethlangston.net/holiday-hop/
Elizabeth Rose https://elizabethrosenovels.com/
Eliza Knight https://elizaknight.com/news/
E.L Johnson https://eljohnsonstories.weebly.com/
Gina Conkle https://ginaconkle.com/
Heather McCollum https://www.heathermccollum.com/
Hildie McQueen https://www.facebook.com/hildieMcQueenWriter
Jane Charles https://www.janecharlesauthor.com/holiday-books
Jessica Clements https://www.facebook.com/JessicaAClementsNavarro
Katherine Bone https://www.katherinebone.com/
Katherine Grant https://katherinegrantromance.com/halloween-hop
Kathryn Le Veque https://kathrynleveque.com/
Lisa Rayne https://lisarayne.com/
Lori Ann Bailey https://loriannbailey.com/
Maddison Michaels https://maddisonmichaels.com/
Madeline Martin https://www.facebook.com/MadelineMartinAuthor/
Michelle McLean https://michellemcleanbooks.com/
MK Robert https://mkrobertauthor.com/
Nicole Locke https://www.nicolelocke.com/
Rachel Ann Smith https://historical.rachelannsmith.com/
Ruth A. Casie https://www.facebook.com/RuthACasie
Samantha Grace https://www.samanthagraceauthor.com/
Sandra Sookoo https://www.facebook.com/sandrasookooauthor
Tara Kingston https://www.facebook.com/TaraKingstonAuthor
Terri Brisbin https://terribrisbin.com/
Tracy Sumner https://www.tracy-sumner.com/